# CVE-2026-97025: Flatpak: flatpak: world-readable oci authentication token in system-helper cache path

Status: published. Published: 2026-09-28. Updated: 2026-11-06.

Flatpak writes the OCI repository authentication token with world-readable permissions (0644) in the system-helper's cache directory, allowing other local users on a multi-user system to read the token and impersonate the authenticated user against the OCI repository. Only OCI-based sources (e.g. as used by Fedora) are affected; libostree-based sources such as Flathub are not.

## Remediation

- workaround: Use libostree repositories such as Flathub, or unauthenticated (public) OCI repositories. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (flatpak): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (flatpak): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (flatpak): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (flatpak): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 3.2 (low); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:C/C:L/I:N/A:N; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.13% as of 2026-11-06; percentile 2.22%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-378

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-97025 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2542628 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://github.com/flatpak/flatpak/security/advisories/GHSA-7rvf-rqr3-43j4 (CNA: redhat)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-97025; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-97025; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated Not reported

Revision: e373d1921724eaf3885090f1b2dabc231d16d3c0ed927666e797ce16629d2939

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-97025

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.