# CVE-2026-89091: Ansible-core: ansible-core: ansible-galaxy collection install symlink path escape allows arbitrary file write / code execution

Status: published. Published: 2026-10-08. Updated: 2026-11-02.

A flaw was found in ansible-core. When installing a collection with
`ansible-galaxy collection install`, the archive extractor validates member
paths using lexical path normalisation (os.path.abspath) instead of resolving
symbolic links (os.path.realpath), and it performs no containment check on
symlink-typed directory members before creating them. A crafted collection
tarball can chain symlink directory entries so that a subsequent file member is
written outside the intended destination directory. This allows an attacker who
can get a victim to install a malicious collection to overwrite arbitrary files
with the privileges of the user running ansible-galaxy, leading to code
execution on the control node. This is a bypass of the fix for CVE-2020-10691.

## Remediation

No remediation reported in collected sources

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Migration Toolkit for Applications 8 (mta/mta-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Migration Toolkit for Virtualization (migration-toolkit-virtualization/mtv-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / OpenShift Service Mesh 3 (openshift-service-mesh/kiali-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management for Kubernetes 2 (rhacm2/volsync-operator-bundle): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management for Kubernetes 2 (rhacm2/volsync-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/de-minimal-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/de-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/ee-minimal-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/ee-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/hub-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/lightspeed-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/ansible-dev-tools-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/de-minimal-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/de-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/eda-controller-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/ee-minimal-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/ee-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/hub-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/lightspeed-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/ansible-dev-tools-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/controller-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/de-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/de-supported-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/eda-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/eda-controller-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/ee-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/ee-supported-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/gateway-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/hub-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/lightspeed-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/lightspeed-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/platform-resource-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/platform-resource-runner-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/aap-cloud-billing-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/ansible-devspaces-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/ansible-dev-tools-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/controller-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/de-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/de-supported-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/eda-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/eda-controller-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/ee-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/ee-supported-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/gateway-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/hub-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/lightspeed-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/lightspeed-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/metrics-service-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/platform-resource-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/platform-resource-runner-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-tech-preview/ansible-devspaces-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-tech-preview/metrics-service-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-core): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform Ansible Core 2 (ansible-automation-platform/ee-minimal-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform Ansible Core 2 (ansible-automation-platform/ee-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform Ansible Core 2 (ansible-automation-platform-tech-preview/ee-minimal-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform Ansible Core 2 (ansible-automation-platform-tech-preview/ee-minimal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Certification Program for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (rhcertification/redhat-certification-system-ai): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Discovery 2 (discovery/discovery-server-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (ansible-core): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (ansible-core): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (ansible-core): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift4/ose-ansible-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 5 (openshift5/ose-ansible-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenStack Platform 17.1 (openstack-ansible-core): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenStack Platform 18.0 (rhoso-operators/ee-openstack-ansible-ee-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Satellite 6 (ansible-core): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/installer-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/installer-tp-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/rhua-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/rhua-tp-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Self-service automation portal 2 (ansible-automation-platform/bootc-automation-portal-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 8.8 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CVSS 3.1: 8.8 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: NVD: secalert@redhat.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.48% as of 2026-11-02; percentile 41.41%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact total; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-59

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-89091 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2531646 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-89091 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2531646 (secalert@redhat.com)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-89091; retrieved 2026-11-02; source updated 2026-11-02

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-89091; retrieved 2026-11-03; source updated 2026-11-02

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-89091; retrieved 2026-11-02; source updated Not reported

Revision: cc7af8ab0b48c9690594874ab41066f357e16557362fe7397f580a09dbbacc8d

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-89091

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.