# CVE-2026-86845: Dpdk: dpdk: guest-triggered use-after-free and type confusion in vhost-crypto session cleanup

Status: published. Published: 2026-10-14. Updated: 2026-11-06.

A flaw was found in DPDK lib/vhost vhost-crypto. Session cleanup can leave a stale cached session pointer, and the data path does not check the session type before attaching it, leading to use-after-free or type confusion in the host vhost-crypto backend.

## Remediation

- workaround: Do not attach a virtio-crypto vhost-user backend to untrusted guests. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (dpdk): ≥ 2:25.11-2.el10_2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (dpdk): ≥ 2:25.11-2.el9_8; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 10 (grout): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 10 (openvswitch3.5): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 10 (openvswitch3.6): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch2.11): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch2.12): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch2.13): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch2.15): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch2.16): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch2.17): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 8 (openvswitch3.1): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (grout): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch2.17): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.0): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.1): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.2): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.3): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.4): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.5): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Fast Datapath for RHEL 9 (openvswitch3.6): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (dpdk): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openvswitch2.17): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openvswitch3.0): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openvswitch3.1): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenStack Platform 13 (Queens) (openvswitch): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 6.5 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CVSS 3.1: 6.5 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: NVD: secalert@redhat.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.17% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 5.89%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-825

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:94629 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:94630 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-86845 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2529844 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:94629 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:94630 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-86845 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2529844 (secalert@redhat.com)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-86845; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-86845; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated 2026-11-03

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-86845; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated Not reported

Revision: 583f3af1c42496d7abb371c7003cd60873ef5defb001a7fb563b20f931eef121

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-86845

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.