# CVE-2026-84232: Pulpcore: python-pulpcore: stored cross-site scripting via inline rendering of uploaded html/svg content

Status: published. Published: 2026-09-01. Updated: 2026-11-06.

A flaw was found in pulpcore's content serving application. Files uploaded to Pulp file-type repositories are served with their original content type (e.g., text/html for .html files, image/svg+xml for .svg files) and without a Content-Disposition: attachment header when using local filesystem storage. An authenticated user or attacker with content upload permissions can upload a specially crafted HTML or SVG file containing JavaScript, which executes in the browser of any user who visits the file URL, resulting in stored cross-site scripting (XSS) in the context of the host application.

## Remediation

- workaround: If immediate update is not possible, administrators can add security headers to the Apache reverse proxy configuration for the /pulp/content/ path. On Satellite, add the following to the Apache configuration (e.g., via a custom .conf file in /etc/httpd/conf.d/ or via a Puppet override):

```
  <Location /pulp/content>
    Header set Content-Disposition "attachment"
    Header set X-Content-Type-Options "nosniff"
    Header set Content-Security-Policy "default-src 'none'; sandbox"
  </Location>
```
This forces all content downloads rather than inline rendering, and blocks script execution even if Content-Disposition is somehow bypassed.

After applying, restart Apache: ```systemctl restart httpd```
Alternatively, restrict file upload permissions in Satellite to only trusted users who require content management capabilities. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-24/hub-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-25/hub-rhel8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (python3.11-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (python3.12-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (python3x-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (python-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Satellite 6 (python3.12-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Satellite 6 (python-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 4 for Cloud Providers (python-pulpcore): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/rhua-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/rhua-tp-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 5.4 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:C/C:L/I:L/A:N; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.24% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 14.50%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-79

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-84232 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2526807 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-84232; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-84232; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated Not reported

Revision: be671b208544b70c15b11f35a0c272e221d15a891b234422064404676e668e04

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-84232

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.