# CVE-2026-82965: Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: unauthenticated denial of service via saml soap endpoint unbounded xml parsing

Status: published. Published: 2026-11-05. Updated: 2026-11-06.

A flaw was found in the SAML implementation of Keycloak, an open-source identity and access management solution. The SAML Artifact Resolution and ECP SOAP endpoints do not properly limit the size or complexity of incoming XML requests. An unauthenticated remote attacker can exploit this by sending specially crafted, large XML messages that cause the server to consume excessive memory. This leads to the application running out of memory and crashing, resulting in a denial of service for all users.

## Remediation

- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options do not meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base, or stability.

--- CME Mitigation Guidance (2026-11-06) ---
Disclaimer: The following mitigation solutions are provided as a courtesy, pending the application of an official patch. This content was generated utilizing AI tools in conjunction with data from https://cmetaxonomy.org. Customers are advised to independently evaluate and test these temporary mitigations within their own infrastructure.

The highest-value action is to enforce XML payload size and element count validation during SAML SOAP request parsing before DOM tree construction: upgrade to Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4.17, 26.6.8 (or the corresponding fixed Red Hat builds), which enforce XML payload size and element count limits when parsing incoming SAML SOAP requests, closing all 2 injection vectors (SAML Artifact Resolution SOAP requests with large or deeply nested XML payloads, SAML ECP SOAP requests containing millions of empty XML elements). Until patched, this is a concern on Keycloak deployments exposing SAML SOAP endpoints to unauthenticated network access, so Restrict network access to SAML SOAP endpoints such as /realms/{realm}/protocol/saml/resolve to trusted internal clients and reverse proxies. As a compensating measure, Configure systemd service watchdog and automatic restart directives to detect OutOfMemoryError process exits and restore Keycloak service availability and Implement rate limiting and connection throttling on SOAP requests targeting the SAML resolve endpoint to mitigate rapid heap exhaustion. These controls limit blast radius and contain exploitation, but they do not fix the underlying unbounded XML parsing defect — apply the upstream patch to fully remediate.

Highest-impact CME: CME-1204 Service Watchdog and Automatic Restart (systemd WatchdogSec/Restart) (medium) (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4 (rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle): ≥ 26.4.17-2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4 (rhbk/keycloak-rhel9): ≥ 26.4-29; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4 (rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator): ≥ 26.4-30; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4.17 (keycloak/rhbk-openshift-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4.17 (keycloak-services): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4.17 (rhbk/keycloak-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6 (rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle): ≥ 26.6.8-2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6 (rhbk/keycloak-rhel9): ≥ 26.6-24; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6 (rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator): ≥ 26.6-24; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6.8 (keycloak/rhbk-openshift-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6.8 (keycloak-services): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6.8 (rhbk/keycloak-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Single Sign-On 7 (keycloak-services): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.5 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CVSS 3.1: 7.5 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: NVD: secalert@redhat.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.48% as of 2026-11-06; percentile 41.81%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable yes; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-400

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95759 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95760 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95761 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95762 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-82965 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2526302 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95759 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95760 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95761 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:95762 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-82965 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2526302 (secalert@redhat.com)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-82965; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-82965; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-82965; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated Not reported

Revision: d67ff2fa8a18d8839bba4d53a422d7cd8e677c6d495e8e2367bc9ca79a270339

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-82965

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.