# CVE-2026-6845: Binutils: binutils: denial of service via crafted elf file

Status: published. Published: 2026-04-22. Updated: 2026-11-05.

A flaw was found in binutils, specifically within the `readelf` utility. This vulnerability allows a local attacker to cause a Denial of Service (DoS) by tricking a user into processing a specially crafted Executable and Linkable Format (ELF) file. The exploitation of this flaw can lead to the system becoming unresponsive due to excessive resource consumption or a program crash.

## Remediation

- workaround: To mitigate this issue, users should avoid processing untrusted or suspicious ELF files with the `readelf` utility. No specific configuration or operational control is available to prevent this vulnerability without affecting the intended functionality of `readelf`. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Hardened Images (binutils-main): ≥ 2.45.1-5.2.hum1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Hardened Images (binutils-main): ≥ 2.46.1-1.hum1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (gcc-toolset-15-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (gdb): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (mingw-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (gdb): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gcc-toolset-14-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gcc-toolset-14-gdb): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gcc-toolset-15-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gcc-toolset-15-gdb): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gdb): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (mingw-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (gcc-toolset-14-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (gcc-toolset-15-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (gdb): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (mingw-binutils): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 5 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.15% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 3.93%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-476

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:34924 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:39022 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-6845 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2460012 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-6845; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-6845; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: 0e7c640017fc2914ce905b7aaea587444e88c3527b63b6240323c9173fb23320

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-6845

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.