# CVE-2026-62439: Gimp: gimp: file-pvr plug-in pvr file parsing integer overflow heap-based buffer overflow vulnerability

Status: published. Published: 2026-10-16. Updated: 2026-11-04.

A flaw was found in GIMP. An integer overflow occurs in the file-pvr plug-in when calculating memory buffer sizes for image dimensions. By tricking a user into opening or previewing a specially crafted PowerVR (.pvr) file, an attacker can trigger a heap-based buffer overflow, potentially leading to arbitrary code execution or a Denial of Service (DoS) via an application crash.

## Remediation

- workaround: --- CME Mitigation Guidance (2026-10-20) ---
Disclaimer: The following mitigation solutions are provided as a courtesy, pending the application of an official patch. This content was generated utilizing AI tools in conjunction with data from https://cmetaxonomy.org. Customers are advised to independently evaluate and test these temporary mitigations within their own infrastructure.

The highest-value action is to enforce checked arithmetic and header dimension bounds verification before allocating pixel destination buffers in the file-pvr plug-in: upgrade to the fixed Gimp/Gimp:2.8/Gimp builds, which validate header width and height dimensions against MAX_TWIDDLE_SIZE and use checked multiplication for buffer size calculations, closing all 2 injection vectors (opening a crafted .pvr file in GIMP, thumbnailing or previewing a crafted .pvr file). Until patched, this is a concern on Users and automated indexing or thumbnailing services processing PowerVR (.pvr) files, so Avoid opening untrusted PowerVR (.pvr) texture files in GIMP and disable automated thumbnail generation or file indexer processing for .pvr files. As a compensating measure, Compile with signed integer overflow trapping (-ftrapv or UndefinedBehaviorSanitizer) to abort execution if buffer size arithmetic overflows. These controls limit blast radius and contain exploitation, but they do not fix the underlying integer overflow and heap buffer overflow defect — apply the upstream patch to fully remediate.

Highest-impact CME: CME-1311 Input Size and Quantity Bounds Enforcement (high) (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (gimp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (gimp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (gimp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gimp:2.8/gimp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (gimp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CVSS 3.1: 7 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: NVD: secalert@redhat.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.25% as of 2026-11-04; percentile 15.96%

- SSVC: exploitation poc; automatable no; technical impact total; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-190

## Exploit evidence

- exploit: https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/-/issues/16314 (ADP: CISA-ADP)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-62439 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2554464 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/-/issues/16314 (CNA: redhat)

- https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/-/issues/16314 (ADP: CISA-ADP; exploit)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-62439 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2554464 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/-/issues/16314 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/-/issues/16314 (134c704f-9b21-4f2e-91b3-4a467353bcc0)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-62439; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated 2026-11-04

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-62439; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-04

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-62439; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated Not reported

Revision: 46dc961ff281d735ce28f403dc2da594a6a2c41ce74d627508bb6c4593b24c10

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-62439

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.