# CVE-2026-42784: Sequoia-openpgp: sequoia-openpgp: cryptographic integrity compromise via key flag confusion

Status: published. Published: 2026-09-16. Updated: 2026-11-03.

A flaw was found in sequoia-openpgp. The library incorrectly infers key flags for older certificates when a key flags subpacket is missing, leading to a discrepancy in how key capabilities are viewed. This key flag confusion allows an attacker to bypass the back-signature check. Consequently, an attacker can illegitimately bind an arbitrary subkey to their own certificate and forge signatures, completely compromising cryptographic integrity.

## Remediation

- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options do not meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base, or stability. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 for RHEL 9 (python3.12-pysequoia): ≥ 0:0.1.34-1.el9ap; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (rust-rpm-sequoia): ≥ 0:1.10.2.1-1.el10_2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (rust-sequoia-sqv): ≥ 0:1.3.0.2-1.el10_2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (rust-sequoia-sq): ≥ 0:1.4.0.1-2.el10_2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (rust-rpm-sequoia): ≥ 0:1.10.2.1-1.el9_8; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Cost Management On-Premise 1 (costmanagement/costmanagement-ui-rhel10): ≥ 1791460851; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Hardened Images (rust-podman-sequoia-main): ≥ 0.3.2-4.hum1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Confidential Compute Attestation (openshift-sandboxed-containers/osc-monitor-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Confidential Compute Attestation (openshift-sandboxed-containers/osc-operator-bundle): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Confidential Compute Attestation (openshift-sandboxed-containers/osc-podvm-builder-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Confidential Compute Attestation (openshift-sandboxed-containers/osc-podvm-payload-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Confidential Compute Attestation (openshift-sandboxed-containers/osc-rhel9-operator): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-26/hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2 (ansible-automation-platform-27/hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (rust-podman-sequoia): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (trustee): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (trustee-guest-components): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (trustee-guest-components): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Hardened Images (rust-rpm-sequoia): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (kata-containers): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Satellite 6 (python3.12-pysequoia): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Satellite 6 (python-pysequoia): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Trusted Profile Analyzer (rhtpa/rhtpa-trustification-service-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Trusted Profile Analyzer (rhtpa/rhtpa-rhel10): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.4 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:N/I:H/A:N; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.31% as of 2026-11-02; percentile 24.24%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-347

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:34160 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:42078 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:42902 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:76733 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:76734 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:76735 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:76737 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:79357 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-42784 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2464122 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-42784; retrieved 2026-11-03; source updated 2026-11-03

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-42784; retrieved 2026-11-03; source updated Not reported

Revision: f3f4de4f77d76b2505c52281a584087832a3942ad427ff2d81f6a7444d031545

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-42784

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.