# CVE-2026-39431: CVE-2026-39431

Status: published. Published: 2026-11-04. Updated: 2026-11-06.

On HP Poly EagleEye Cube USB 1.3.1-001267 devices, one of the API functions available on a management service accessible via USB allows command injection. This allows attackers (without administrator-level access) to execute arbitrary commands on the device as root. This is due to insufficient input validation that allows an attacker to control part of the CSR certificate generation process. This provides full root access that permits full control over device operations, unauthorized access to data, and the ability to place a persistent backdoor on the device (which could operate via the Ethernet port).

## Remediation

No remediation reported in collected sources

## Affected products and versions

- n/a / n/a: Version not specified (affected). Source: CNA: mitre

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.2 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: ADP: CISA-ADP

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.47% as of 2026-11-06; percentile 41.06%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact total; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-77

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://support.hp.com/rs-en/product/product-specs/g7500-kit-series/model/2102186752 (CNA: mitre)

- https://docs.poly.com/bundle/eagleeye-cube-usb-ug-1-3-0/page/t2821658.html (CNA: mitre)

- https://github.com/thackeraaron/polycom_research/blob/main/CVE-2026-39430_and_CVE-2026-39431.md (CNA: mitre)

- https://docs.poly.com/bundle/eagleeye-cube-usb-ug-1-3-0/page/t2821658.html (cve@mitre.org)

- https://github.com/thackeraaron/polycom_research/blob/main/CVE-2026-39430_and_CVE-2026-39431.md (cve@mitre.org)

- https://support.hp.com/rs-en/product/product-specs/g7500-kit-series/model/2102186752 (cve@mitre.org)

## Provenance

- CNA: mitre: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-39431; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-39431; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated 2026-11-04

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-39431; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated Not reported

Revision: 2df4297dce914ba19e81048790541524ffbcfcf2152d65ff9f54c0116c06066f

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-39431

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.