# CVE-2026-16527: Pcp: pcp pmproxy: unauthenticated access to /store endpoint allows bypassing pmcd access rules

Status: published. Published: 2026-07-30. Updated: 2026-11-04.

An unauthenticated remote attacker can bypass access controls by sending crafted requests to the PCP pmproxy /store endpoint. This allows the attacker to overwrite any PMDA metric, leading to arbitrary code execution and system takeover.

## Remediation

- workaround: To mitigate this issue, restrict network access to the pmproxy service (port 44322/TCP) to trusted hosts only using firewall rules. If pmproxy functionality is not required, disable the service. Disabling the service will prevent remote access to performance metrics via pmproxy. To disable the service, run: `sudo systemctl stop pmproxy` and `sudo systemctl disable pmproxy`. If firewalling, ensure to reload the firewall rules after making changes. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (pcp): ≥ 0:7.0.3-5.el10_2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10.0 Extended Update Support (pcp): ≥ 0:6.3.7-1.el10_0.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (pcp): ≥ 0:5.3.7-22.el8_10.5; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.4 Advanced Mission Critical Update Support (pcp): ≥ 0:5.2.5-8.el8_4.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.4 Extended Update Support Long-Life Add-On (pcp): ≥ 0:5.2.5-8.el8_4.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.6 Advanced Mission Critical Update Support (pcp): ≥ 0:5.3.5-10.el8_6.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.6 Extended Update Support Long-Life Add-On (pcp): ≥ 0:5.3.5-10.el8_6.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.8 Telecommunications Update Service (pcp): ≥ 0:5.3.7-19.el8_8.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.8 Update Services for SAP Solutions (pcp): ≥ 0:5.3.7-19.el8_8.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (pcp): ≥ 0:6.3.7-8.el9_8.4; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 Update Services for SAP Solutions (pcp): ≥ 0:6.0.1-8.el9_2.2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.4 Update Services for SAP Solutions (pcp): ≥ 0:6.2.0-5.el9_4.2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6 Extended Update Support (pcp): ≥ 0:6.3.7-1.el9_6.1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (pcp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (pcp): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 5 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.3 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:L; source: CNA: redhat

- CVSS 3.1: 7.3 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:L; source: NVD: secalert@redhat.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.59% as of 2026-11-04; percentile 48.38%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable yes; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-306, CWE-284

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:55560 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:55617 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:55740 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72272 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72273 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72593 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72594 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:73767 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:74612 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:74613 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-16527 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2506031 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:55560 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:55617 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:55740 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72272 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72273 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72593 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72594 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:73767 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:74612 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:74613 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-16527 (secalert@redhat.com)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2506031 (secalert@redhat.com)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-16527; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated 2026-11-04

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-16527; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated 2026-11-04

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2026-16527; retrieved 2026-11-04; source updated Not reported

Revision: 60d2c47e64409b6f25a8fd9b880af16ae649439774dc371efa70d7861452ed48

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2026-16527

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.