# CVE-2025-71319: image-size 2.0.2 Denial of Service via Infinite Loop in JXL/HEIF Parser

Status: published. Published: 2026-06-09. Updated: 2026-11-08.

image-size through 2.0.2 contains a denial of service vulnerability that allows remote attackers to permanently block the Node.js event loop by supplying a specially crafted image buffer with a zero-valued size field in a recognized box-type. Attackers can trigger an infinite loop in the JXL or HEIF image parsers by providing a crafted image containing a box with a size of zero, causing the offset to never advance and permanently hanging the application.

## Remediation

- fix: RHSA-2026:33313: Red Hat Discovery 2

RHSA-2026:37272: Red Hat Trusted Artifact Signer 1.4 (source: ADP: redhat-SADP)
- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options do not meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base, or stability. (source: ADP: redhat-SADP)
- fix: The reporting source identifies this reference as a patch. Check the advisory for affected versions and supported release branches. (source: CNA: VulnCheck) — https://web.archive.org/web/20260224152152/https://github.com/image-size/image-size/pull/439

## Affected products and versions

- image-size / image-size (image-size): ≥ 1.1.0; ≤ 1.2.1 (affected, semver); ≥ 2.0.0; ≤ 2.0.2 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: VulnCheck
- Red Hat / Red Hat Discovery 2 (discovery/discovery-ui-rhel9): ≥ 1782756541; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Trusted Artifact Signer 1.4 (rhtas/rekor-search-ui-rhel9): ≥ 1783327185; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Gatekeeper 3 (gatekeeper/gatekeeper-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Build of Podman Desktop (rh-podman-desktop.git): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (subscription-manager): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (grafana): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (grafana-pcp): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (subscription-manager): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Fuse 7 (image-size): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform 7 (image-size): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform 8 (image-size): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack (image-size): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-workbench-codeserver-datascience-cpu-py312-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Dev Spaces (devspaces/code-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP
- Red Hat / Red Hat Satellite 6 (satellite/iop-vulnerability-frontend-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: ADP: redhat-SADP

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 4.0: 8.7 (high); CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:N/VI:N/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N; source: CNA: VulnCheck

- CVSS 3.1: 7.5 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: VulnCheck

- CVSS 3.1: 7.5 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: ADP: redhat-SADP

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.73% as of 2026-11-08; percentile 54.47%

- SSVC: exploitation poc; automatable yes; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-835

## Exploit evidence

- exploit: https://joshua.hu/image-size-infinite-loop-dos-vulnerabilities (CNA: VulnCheck)

## References

- https://joshua.hu/image-size-infinite-loop-dos-vulnerabilities (CNA: VulnCheck; technical-description, exploit)

- https://web.archive.org/web/20260224152152/https://github.com/image-size/image-size/pull/439 (CNA: VulnCheck; issue-tracking, patch)

- https://www.vulncheck.com/advisories/image-size-denial-of-service-via-infinite-loop-in-jxl-heif-parser (CNA: VulnCheck; third-party-advisory)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2025-71319 (ADP: redhat-SADP; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2487296 (ADP: redhat-SADP; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2025/cve-2025-71319.json (ADP: redhat-SADP; x_sadp-csaf-vex)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:33313 (ADP: redhat-SADP; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:37272 (ADP: redhat-SADP; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: VulnCheck: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2025-71319; retrieved 2026-11-08; source updated 2026-11-08

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2025-71319; retrieved 2026-11-08; source updated Not reported

Revision: 6cfc8041de469576bef6aaee44cc7cf4722ae1d85878794885999fb69daeb1ea

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2025-71319

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.