# CVE-2025-38315: Bluetooth: btintel: Check dsbr size from EFI variable

Status: published. Published: 2025-07-10. Updated: 2026-11-05.

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved:

Bluetooth: btintel: Check dsbr size from EFI variable

Since the size of struct btintel_dsbr is already known, we can just
start there instead of querying the EFI variable size. If the final
result doesn't match what we expect also fail. This fixes a stack buffer
overflow when the EFI variable is larger than struct btintel_dsbr.

## Remediation

No remediation reported in collected sources

## Affected products and versions

- Linux / Linux: ≥ eb9e749c0182affafadfbe5ded4503c4b5a9b57c; < 9427f6081f37c795a8bd29d0ee72a4da3bd64af8 (affected, git); ≥ eb9e749c0182affafadfbe5ded4503c4b5a9b57c; < 7b8526bb489780ccc0caffc446ecabec83cfe568 (affected, git); ≥ eb9e749c0182affafadfbe5ded4503c4b5a9b57c; < 3aa1dc3c9060e335e82e9c182bf3d1db29220b1b (affected, git). Source: CNA: Linux
- Linux / Linux: 6.11 (affected); ≥ 0; < 6.11 (unaffected, semver); ≥ 6.12.34; ≤ 6.12.* (unaffected, semver); ≥ 6.15.3; ≤ 6.15.* (unaffected, semver); ≥ 6.16; ≤ * (unaffected, original_commit_for_fix). Source: CNA: Linux

## Severity and prioritization

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.16% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 5.63%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: Not reported

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://git.kernel.org/stable/c/9427f6081f37c795a8bd29d0ee72a4da3bd64af8 (CNA: Linux)

- https://git.kernel.org/stable/c/7b8526bb489780ccc0caffc446ecabec83cfe568 (CNA: Linux)

- https://git.kernel.org/stable/c/3aa1dc3c9060e335e82e9c182bf3d1db29220b1b (CNA: Linux)

## Provenance

- CNA: Linux: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2025-38315; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2025-38315; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: cb49d494c3a951340ff51d354556df45045769796796d1c50a58f0102c4617e3

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2025-38315

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.