# CVE-2025-38289: scsi: lpfc: Avoid potential ndlp use-after-free in dev_loss_tmo_callbk

Status: published. Published: 2025-07-10. Updated: 2026-11-05.

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved:

scsi: lpfc: Avoid potential ndlp use-after-free in dev_loss_tmo_callbk

Smatch detected a potential use-after-free of an ndlp oject in
dev_loss_tmo_callbk during driver unload or fatal error handling.

Fix by reordering code to avoid potential use-after-free if initial
nodelist reference has been previously removed.

## Remediation

No remediation reported in collected sources

## Affected products and versions

- Linux / Linux: ≥ e4913d4bc59227fbdfe6b8f5541f49aaea1cb41c; < ea405fb4144985d5c60f49c2abd9ba47ea44fdb4 (affected, git); ≥ 4281f44ea8bfedd25938a0031bebba1473ece9ad; < 4f09940b5581e44069eb31a66cf7f05c3c35ed04 (affected, git); ≥ 4281f44ea8bfedd25938a0031bebba1473ece9ad; < b5162bb6aa1ec04dff4509b025883524b6d7e7ca (affected, git); ≥ 6.12.5; < 6.12.37 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: Linux
- Linux / Linux: 6.13 (affected); ≥ 0; < 6.13 (unaffected, semver); ≥ 6.12.37; ≤ 6.12.* (unaffected, semver); ≥ 6.15.3; ≤ 6.15.* (unaffected, semver); ≥ 6.16; ≤ * (unaffected, original_commit_for_fix). Source: CNA: Linux

## Severity and prioritization

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.19% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 8.74%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: Not reported

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://git.kernel.org/stable/c/ea405fb4144985d5c60f49c2abd9ba47ea44fdb4 (CNA: Linux)

- https://git.kernel.org/stable/c/4f09940b5581e44069eb31a66cf7f05c3c35ed04 (CNA: Linux)

- https://git.kernel.org/stable/c/b5162bb6aa1ec04dff4509b025883524b6d7e7ca (CNA: Linux)

## Provenance

- CNA: Linux: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2025-38289; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2025-38289; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: dbd5429ee4f33892011cac2682c2c5ede1b4aec805a0ffaeb0a8c45a980aab19

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2025-38289

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.