# CVE-2025-32990: Gnutls: vulnerability in gnutls certtool template parsing

Status: published. Published: 2025-07-10. Updated: 2026-11-05.

A heap-buffer-overflow (off-by-one) flaw was found in the GnuTLS software in the template parsing logic within the certtool utility. When it reads certain settings from a template file, it allows an attacker to cause an out-of-bounds (OOB) NULL pointer write, resulting in memory corruption and a denial-of-service (DoS) that could potentially crash the system.

## Remediation

- workaround: Currently, no mitigation is available for this vulnerability. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

-  /  (libgnutls): ≥ 0; < 3.8.10 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (gnutls): ≥ 0:3.8.9-9.el10_0.14; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (gnutls): ≥ 0:3.6.16-8.el8_10.4; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (gnutls): ≥ 0:3.8.3-6.el9_6.2; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 Update Services for SAP Solutions (gnutls): ≥ 0:3.7.6-21.el9_2.4; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.4 Extended Update Support (gnutls): ≥ 0:3.8.3-4.el9_4.4; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ceph Storage 7 (rhceph/rhceph-7-rhel9): ≥ 7; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Discovery 2 (discovery/discovery-ui-rhel9): ≥ 2.3.0-1760554384; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Hardened Images (gnutls-main): ≥ 3.8.12-1.1.hum1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Insights proxy 1.5 (insights-proxy/insights-proxy-container-rhel9): ≥ 1.5.7-1759331989; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (gnutls): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (gnutls): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 6.5 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:L; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.90% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 59.69%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable yes; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-122

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:16115 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:16116 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17181 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17348 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17361 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17415 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:19088 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:22529 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:7477 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2025-32990 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2359620 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://lists.gnupg.org/pipermail/gnutls-help/2025-July/004883.html (CNA: redhat)

- https://lists.debian.org/debian-lts-announce/2025/08/msg00005.html (ADP: CVE)

- http://www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2025/07/11/3 (ADP: CVE)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2025-32990; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2025-32990; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: fbd24994c7b38a0376064225855a91be83f054fd40ce64d7b51f881895f4b040

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2025-32990

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.