# CVE-2025-14104: Util-linux: util-linux: heap buffer overread in setpwnam() when processing 256-byte usernames

Status: published. Published: 2025-12-05. Updated: 2026-11-05.

A flaw was found in util-linux. This vulnerability allows a heap buffer overread when processing 256-byte usernames, specifically within the `setpwnam()` function, affecting SUID (Set User ID) login-utils utilities writing to the password database.

## Remediation

- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options do not meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base, or stability. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

- util-linux / util-linux (util-linux): ≥ 0; < 2.41.3 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (util-linux): ≥ 0:2.40.2-15.el10_1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (util-linux): ≥ 0:2.32.1-48.el8_10; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (util-linux): ≥ 0:2.37.4-21.el9_7; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 (cert-manager/jetstack-cert-manager-acmesolver-rhel9): ≥ 1791459707; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 (cert-manager/jetstack-cert-manager-rhel9): ≥ 1791459711; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 (cert-manager/cert-manager-istio-csr-rhel9): ≥ 1791459759; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 (cert-manager/cert-manager-operator-rhel9): ≥ 1789029076; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 (cert-manager/cert-manager-operator-bundle): ≥ 1791966259; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ceph Storage 7 (rhceph/rhceph-7-rhel9): ≥ 1770632724; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ceph Storage 8 (rhceph/rhceph-8-rhel9): ≥ 1770630907; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Ceph Storage 9 (rhceph/rhceph-9-rhel9): ≥ 1771816028; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Hardened Images (util-linux-main): ≥ 2.42-7.1.hum1; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Insights proxy 1.5 (insights-proxy/insights-proxy-container-rhel9): ≥ 1770740405; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/installer-rhel9): ≥ 1770646925; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/cds-rhel9): ≥ 1773670073; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/haproxy-rhel9): ≥ 1773672059; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 (rhui5/rhua-rhel9): ≥ 1773670137; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (util-linux-ng): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (util-linux): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-8): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 6.1 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.21% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 11.96%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-125

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:1696 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:1852 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:1913 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:2485 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:2563 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:2737 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:2800 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:3406 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:4943 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:7180 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82347 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82354 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82372 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82857 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2025-14104 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2419369 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2025-14104; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2025-14104; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: 77591e5d30c0bfe565dd8828c69c165e6b14f114e230ac1a6ab3dead31cf0db1

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2025-14104

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.