# CVE-2024-8676: Cri-o: checkpoint restore can be triggered from different namespaces

Status: published. Published: 2024-11-26. Updated: 2026-11-05.

A vulnerability was found in CRI-O, where it can be requested to take a checkpoint archive of a container and later be asked to restore it. When it does that restoration, it attempts to restore the mounts from the restore archive instead of the pod request. As a result, the validations run on the pod spec, verifying that the pod has access to the mounts it specifies are not applicable to a restored container. This flaw allows a malicious user to trick CRI-O into restoring a pod that doesn't have access to host mounts. The user needs access to the kubelet or cri-o socket to call the restore endpoint and trigger the restore.

## Remediation

- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options don't meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base or stability. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

-  /  (cri-o): ≥ 0; < 1.29.11 (affected, semver); ≥ 1.30.0; < 1.30.8 (affected, semver); ≥ 1.31.0; < 1.31.3 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.15 (cri-o): ≥ 0:1.28.11-7.rhaos4.15.gitc4c0556.el8; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.16 (cri-o): ≥ 0:1.29.11-3.rhaos4.16.git16d9bd6.el8; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.16 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): ≥ 416.94.202506251808-0; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.17 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): ≥ 417.94.202503241418-0; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.18 (cri-o): ≥ 0:1.31.5-5.rhaos4.18.git6dfa0a6.el8; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4.18 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): ≥ 418.94.202504231329-0; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (container-tools:rhel8/conmon): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (container-tools:rhel8/podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (conmon): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 3.11 (cri-o): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (conmon): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.4 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.75% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 55.12%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact total; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-285

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHBA-2024:10826 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:0648 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:1908 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:3297 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:4211 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:9765 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-8676 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2313842 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2024-8676; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2024-8676; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: 206e67cdd58e234a7e1822ef07ddf7764fd26270ffe1b95aa70f9b25429a6fc1

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2024-8676

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.