# CVE-2024-45783: Grub2: fs/hfs+: refcount can be decremented twice

Status: published. Published: 2025-02-18. Updated: 2026-11-05.

A flaw was found in grub2. When failing to mount an HFS+ grub, the hfsplus filesystem driver doesn't properly set an ERRNO value. This issue may lead to a NULL pointer access.

## Remediation

- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options do not meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base or stability. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

-  /  (grub2): ≥ 0; ≤ 2.12 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (grub2): ≥ 1:2.06-104.el9_6; < * (unaffected, rpm). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (grub2): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (grub2): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (grub2): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 4.4 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.28% as of 2026-11-04; percentile 20.24%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-911

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:6990 (CNA: redhat; vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-45783 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2345863 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2024-45783; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2024-45783; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: 843c8bf09b0502aa05e641f9aea210ebcc97dc1a0c257e2219ca35c3aa0325dc

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2024-45783

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.