# CVE-2024-3056: Podman: kernel: containers in shared ipc namespace are vulnerable to denial of service attack

Status: published. Published: 2024-08-02. Updated: 2026-11-05.

A flaw was found in Podman. This issue may allow an attacker to create a specially crafted container that, when configured to share the same IPC with at least one other container, can create a large number of IPC resources in /dev/shm. The malicious container will continue to exhaust resources until it is out-of-memory (OOM) killed. While the malicious container's cgroup will be removed, the IPC resources it created are not. Those resources are tied to the IPC namespace that will not be removed until all containers using it are stopped, and one non-malicious container is holding the namespace open. The malicious container is restarted, either automatically or by attacker control, repeating the process and increasing the amount of memory consumed. With a container configured to restart always, such as `podman run --restart=always`, this can result in a memory-based denial of service of the system.

## Remediation

- workaround: Mitigation for this issue is either not available or the currently available options don't meet the Red Hat Product Security criteria comprising ease of use and deployment, applicability to widespread installation base or stability. (source: CNA: redhat)

## Affected products and versions

-  /  (podman): 5.0.0 (affected). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (kernel): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (kernel): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (kernel-rt): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (container-tools:4.0/podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (container-tools:rhel8/podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (kernel): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (kernel-rt): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (kernel): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 3.11 (podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 (podman): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.7 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.55% as of 2026-11-04; percentile 45.87%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-400

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-3056 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2270717 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20241227-0002/ (ADP: CVE)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2024-3056; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated 2026-11-05

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2024-3056; retrieved 2026-11-05; source updated Not reported

Revision: 19cbfa45bfef8201a54d804186991aca609cae8453eafc8baf0df8f5c707b4ff

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2024-3056

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.