# CVE-2024-0232: Sqlite: use-after-free bug in jsonparseaddnodearray

Status: published. Published: 2024-01-16. Updated: 2026-11-06.

A heap use-after-free issue has been identified in SQLite in the jsonParseAddNodeArray() function in sqlite3.c. This flaw allows a local attacker to leverage a victim to pass specially crafted malicious input to the application, potentially causing a crash and leading to a denial of service.

## Remediation

No remediation reported in collected sources

## Affected products and versions

-  /  (sqlite): ≥ 0; < 3.43.2 (affected, semver). Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (sqlite): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (sqlite): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (mingw-sqlite): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (sqlite): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (sqlite): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-ai-gateway-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-core-bff-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-dashboard-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-dashboard-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-data-science-pipelines-operator-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-kf-notebook-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-kserve-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-kserve-llmisvc-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-kserve-module-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-kuberay-operator-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-kube-rbac-proxy-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-llama-stack-k8s-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-maas-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mlflow-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mlflow-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-agent-ops-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-automl-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-autorag-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-eval-hub-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-gen-ai-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-maas-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-mlflow-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-mod-arch-model-registry-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-model-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-model-registry-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-model-serving-api-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-notebook-controller-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-ogx-k8s-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-ogx-module-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-training-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-trustyai-service-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Red Hat / Red Hat OpenShift AI (RHOAI) (rhoai/odh-workbenches-operator-rhel9): Version range not reported. Source: CNA: redhat
- Siemens / RUGGEDCOM CROSSBOW Station Access Controller (SAC): ≥ 0; < V5.6 (affected, custom). Source: ADP: siemens-SADP
- Siemens / SIDIS Prime: ≥ 0; < V4.0.700 (affected, custom). Source: ADP: siemens-SADP
- Siemens / SIMATIC S7-1500 TM MFP - GNU/Linux subsystem: ≥ 0; < V1.1 (affected, custom). Source: ADP: siemens-SADP

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 4.7 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H; source: CNA: redhat

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.38% as of 2026-11-05; percentile 32.27%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: CWE-416

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-0232 (CNA: redhat; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2243754 (CNA: redhat; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)

- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-0232 (ADP: CVE; vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT, x_transferred)

- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2243754 (ADP: CVE; issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT, x_transferred)

- https://lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/QDCMYQ3J45NHQ4EJREM3BJNNKB5BK4Y7/ (ADP: CVE; x_transferred)

- https://security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240315-0007/ (ADP: CVE; x_transferred)

- https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-794697.html (ADP: siemens-SADP)

- https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-000297.html (ADP: siemens-SADP)

- https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-915275.html (ADP: siemens-SADP)

- https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-277137.html (ADP: siemens-SADP)

## Provenance

- CNA: redhat: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2024-0232; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated 2026-11-06

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2024-0232; retrieved 2026-11-06; source updated Not reported

Revision: 22b834e040f7456bc3f33745a4ff8399503f12dce0f5a2ba70e1c8dc969aec46

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2024-0232

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.