# CVE-2023-36009: Microsoft Word Information Disclosure Vulnerability

Status: published. Published: 2023-12-12. Updated: 2026-11-02.

Microsoft Word Information Disclosure Vulnerability

## Remediation

- fix: The reporting source identifies this reference as a patch. Check the advisory for affected versions and supported release branches. (source: secure@microsoft.com) — https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2023-36009
- fix: The reporting source identifies this reference as a patch. Check the advisory for affected versions and supported release branches. (source: af854a3a-2127-422b-91ae-364da2661108) — https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2023-36009

## Affected products and versions

- Microsoft / Microsoft Office 2019: ≥ 19.0.0; < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases (affected, custom). Source: CNA: microsoft; platforms: 32-bit Systems, x64-based Systems
- Microsoft / Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise: ≥ 16.0.1; < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases (affected, custom). Source: CNA: microsoft; platforms: 32-bit Systems, x64-based Systems
- Microsoft / Microsoft Office LTSC for Mac 2021: ≥ 16.0.1; < 16.80.23121017 (affected, custom). Source: CNA: microsoft; platforms: Unknown
- Microsoft / Microsoft Office LTSC 2021: ≥ 16.0.1; < https://aka.ms/OfficeSecurityReleases (affected, custom). Source: CNA: microsoft; platforms: x64-based Systems, 32-bit Systems
- Microsoft / Microsoft Office 2016: ≥ 16.0.0; < 16.0.5426.1000 (affected, custom). Source: CNA: microsoft; platforms: 32-bit Systems, x64-based Systems

## NVD configuration conditions

Affected CPE matches depend on the following AND/OR and negation conditions:

```json
[
  {
    "negate": false,
    "nodes": [
      {
        "cpeMatch": [
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:365_apps:-:*:*:*:enterprise:*:x64:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:365_apps:-:*:*:*:enterprise:*:x86:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office:2016:*:*:*:*:*:x64:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office:2016:*:*:*:*:*:x86:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office:2019:*:*:*:*:*:x64:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office:2019:*:*:*:*:*:x86:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office_long_term_servicing_channel:2021:*:*:*:*:*:x64:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office_long_term_servicing_channel:2021:*:*:*:*:*:x86:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:office_long_term_servicing_channel:2021:*:*:*:*:macos:*:*",
            "vulnerable": true
          }
        ],
        "negate": false,
        "operator": "OR"
      }
    ],
    "operator": "OR"
  }
]
```

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 5.5 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N/E:U/RL:O/RC:C; source: CNA: microsoft

- CVSS 3.1: 5.5 (medium); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N; source: NVD: secure@microsoft.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 1.23% as of 2026-11-02; percentile 68.93%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact partial; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: Not reported

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2023-36009 (CNA: microsoft; vendor-advisory)

- https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2023-36009 (ADP: CVE; vendor-advisory, x_transferred)

- https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2023-36009 (secure@microsoft.com; Patch, Vendor Advisory)

- https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/vulnerability/CVE-2023-36009 (af854a3a-2127-422b-91ae-364da2661108; Patch, Vendor Advisory)

## Provenance

- CNA: microsoft: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2023-36009; retrieved 2026-11-02; source updated 2026-11-02

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2023-36009; retrieved 2026-11-03; source updated 2026-11-02

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2023-36009; retrieved 2026-11-02; source updated Not reported

Revision: 9642a030ea2d0d4bbc64decbdfe5057edce195c588a05a8b1e999cd74ca44507

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2023-36009

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.