# CVE-2022-34382: CVE-2022-34382

Status: published. Published: 2022-09-02. Updated: 2026-11-02.

Dell Command Update, Dell Update and Alienware Update versions prior to 4.6.0 contains a Local Privilege Escalation Vulnerability in the custom catalog configuration. A local malicious user may potentially exploit this vulnerability in order to elevate their privileges.

## Remediation

- fix: The reporting source identifies this reference as a patch. Check the advisory for affected versions and supported release branches. (source: security_alert@emc.com) — https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/000202198
- fix: The reporting source identifies this reference as a patch. Check the advisory for affected versions and supported release branches. (source: af854a3a-2127-422b-91ae-364da2661108) — https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/000202198

## Affected products and versions

- Dell / Dell Command Update (DCU): < 4.6.0 (affected, custom). Source: CNA: dell

## NVD configuration conditions

Affected CPE matches depend on the following AND/OR and negation conditions:

```json
[
  {
    "negate": false,
    "nodes": [
      {
        "cpeMatch": [
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:dell:alienware_update:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*",
            "versionEndExcluding": "4.6.0",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:dell:command_update:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*",
            "versionEndExcluding": "4.6.0",
            "vulnerable": true
          },
          {
            "criteria": "cpe:2.3:a:dell:update:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*",
            "versionEndExcluding": "4.6.0",
            "vulnerable": true
          }
        ],
        "negate": false,
        "operator": "OR"
      }
    ],
    "operator": "OR"
  }
]
```

## Severity and prioritization

- CVSS 3.1: 7.8 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: CNA: dell

- CVSS 3.1: 7.8 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: NVD: nvd@nist.gov

- CVSS 3.1: 7.8 (high); CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H; source: NVD: security_alert@emc.com

- CISA KEV: No listing in collected sources

- EPSS: 0.19% as of 2026-11-02; percentile 9.01%

- SSVC: exploitation none; automatable no; technical impact total; source ADP: CISA-ADP

- Weaknesses: Not reported

## Exploit evidence

No exploit evidence in collected sources. This is not proof of no exploitation.

## References

- https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/000202198 (CNA: dell; x_refsource_MISC)

- https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/000202198 (ADP: CVE; x_refsource_MISC, x_transferred)

- https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/000202198 (security_alert@emc.com; Patch, Vendor Advisory)

- https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/000202198 (af854a3a-2127-422b-91ae-364da2661108; Patch, Vendor Advisory)

## Provenance

- CNA: dell: https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2022-34382; retrieved 2026-11-02; source updated 2026-11-02

- NVD: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2022-34382; retrieved 2026-11-03; source updated 2026-11-02

- FIRST EPSS: https://api.first.org/data/v1/epss?cve=CVE-2022-34382; retrieved 2026-11-02; source updated Not reported

Revision: a1fdbf248bbd34272b8c10fcc68ed92d1112e553962a8f8fc6ffc12153e417f5

Canonical: https://y2.dev/cve/CVE-2022-34382

## Agent and API access

Public CVE pages, Markdown, and JSON are free to read without an account or API key.

- Public catalog: https://y2.dev/cve/index.json. Follow nextCursor with the same search, filters, sort, and limit (1–100). A null cursor marks the end.

- WebMCP: search_cve_disclosures, get_cve_disclosure, get_cve_page_markdown, get_y2_cve_access. Available in compatible browsers.

- Cyber API: https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves and https://api.y2.dev/api/v2/cyber/cves/{cveId}.

- Y2 Pro or Elite: create a workspace API key with the intel:cyber scope and send Authorization: Bearer <Y2_API_KEY>. Setup: https://y2.dev/docs/api/create-key.

- x402: Pay per request without an account or API key. Omit Authorization, read the HTTP 402 PAYMENT-REQUIRED challenge, validate its current requirements, and retry with PAYMENT-SIGNATURE through an authorized payment client. These browser tools never make payments. Guide: https://y2.dev/docs/api/x402.

- OpenAPI: https://y2.dev/api/openapi.yaml. Agent access metadata: https://y2.dev/cve/agent.json.

Collected public records only. Check source status for coverage and freshness.